End of Year Awards

At our B4C end of year event on Wednesday we recognised our wonderful volunteers, staff, local bushcare groups and supporters.

Our top awards were as follows:
Thanks to Steve Minnikin MP for presenting these awards (the winners without photos were unable to attend on the day. We also had Cr Krista Adams and Di Farmer MP present our other certificates of appreciation.

Brad PimmGreater Brisbane Environment Award

For outstanding long-term commitment to community involvement in the protection and repair of Brisbane’s environment, with Bayside Creeks, Bulimba Creek and Brisbane Catchments Network and BREC.

Brad Pimm
Brad was one of the early B4C members and was instrumental in us taking on the Tingalpa Wetlands precinct as a project area. He has been involved in many environment groups, always interested in making a difference.

Environmentalist of the Year

For long-term commitment to protect the environment in the greater Brisbane Area

Ted Fensom
Ted was one of the early B4C members. He has been of great assistance this year with campaigning for better outcomes with developments in Brisbane and Logan.

Natural Area Volunteer of the Year

For outstanding work with the community and Griffith University, especially with the Pollinator Link

Laurie Deacon & Michael Fox
Mike and Laurie have worked tirelessly with developing the Pollinator Link project, encouraging families, kindies, schools and businesses to plant natives in their yards to provide a vegetated linkage and refuge for birds, bees and butterflies. They’re also leaders of their respective bushcare groups that meet monthly and include Griffith Uni students as well as the general community.

Ben Chambers

Field Volunteer of the Year

Ben Chambers
For outstanding support of Bulimba Creek Catchment Care.
Ben has been a regular volunteer all year, working in the field with all team supervisors.
He especially enjoys brushcutting!


Christopher Johnson

Young Volunteer of the Year

Christopher Johnson

For work with the water testing team, Science Unit, field team and other events.

Chris has volunteered for many of B4C’s projects including the science unit, field team, community plantings and Mt Barney weed control. He is also a keen bird watcher. Chris recently completed the water quality testing course.


Nursery Volunteer of the Year

Jane Seddon
For leadership and education of new and continuing volunteers. Unfortunately Jane couldn’t be here today. She has been a wonderful volunteer in the nursery, assisting with training new people, as well as with all the nursery tasks. Jane has made special aprons for all the volunteers.

Bushcare Group of the Year

Belmont Hills Conservation Group
For excellent work looking after areas in Belmont Hills. The Cramond and Vickerman families, along with local families and the SCRUB bushcare group, have worked tirelessly to remove weeds , encourage natural regeneration and plant natives into their properties and the neighbouring Council owned areas.

Bushcarer of the Year

John Evans
For consistent work on 4 bushcare sites as well as training for 7 Green Army teams and other volunteers. Every weekend John is working on one of the SCRUB bushcare sites which are at Ekibin Creek, Belmont Hills and Sankeys Scrub in Whites Hill. He has also been a great help in training the Green Army teams in bushcaring techniques, as well as drilling hundreds of holes for their plantings.

Community Engagement Award

Claudia AriasClaudia Arias
For great research and organising city-wide communities in nature conservation. Claudia has worked on several research projects and has done a very professional job.
Her main projects this year have been the Common Myna Project, Fauna Movement Solutions, organising our B4C Planning day, helping with the website upgrade and upgrading our various reporting templates.

Natural Area Group of the Year

Karawatha Forest Protection Society
For engagement of the community in ongoing protection of Karawatha. The Karawatha Forest Protection Group has continued to be vigilant and proactive in engaging the community and presenting submissions to various levels of government.

Andrew Dziedzic

Researcher of the Year

Andrew Dziedzic
For services at Black Swan Lake, water quality analysis and leading the water watch team.
Andrew is one of the B4C Science Unit team. His expertise in water quality testing and analysis of results were instrumental in the campaign to assist the Gold Coast Community to save Black Swan Lake at Bundall from being filled in.

Campaigner of the Year

Ray Ison
For great assistance at Black Swan Lake, Logan Motorway, Pacific Golf Club and Belmont Rifle Range Ray has been very helpful with writing and editing submissions on a variety of issues including Black swan Lake at the Gold Coast, erosion issues at Pacific Golf Club and Belmont Rifle Range and with fauna movement information for the Logan Motorway Enhancement Project.

Environmental Mentor

Daryl Evans
For services to the B4C Science Unit and educating corporate and other volunteers. Daryl has worked throughout the year with mentoring the B4C Science Unit, assisting with training and feedback on various reports. He has also helped with various corporate and community events, explaining about wildlife corridors and how the B4C works contribute to the bigger picture of improving the environment on a wider scale.

Rick HooperVolunteer of the Year

Rick Hooper
For outstanding assistance with mechanical maintenance and construction projects.

Rick has been a wonderful inventor as well as mechanical expert in maintaining the mowers, brushcutters and other machinery for the field team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.